Inspiration

I awoke to the sweet smell of the flowers outside. The smell was carried on a warm breeze coming through the window I perched at. The wind blew straight into my face, pushing back my grey fur. I let my ears lay flat and inhaled the scent of the garden. It was my favorite place in the area to sit. Marigolds, lilacs, and even poppies scattered the lawn of my house folks nest in an array of vibrate colors.  I heard my owner holler from the entrance and my whiskers twitched excitedly.  I stood and stretched out my front legs before jumping off of my sunny perch by the window. My owner called again and I trotted over, the bell on my collar jingling with  each paw step. The hairless, twoleg (human) crouched and ran a hand along my back. I let out a purr of delight as the two leg stood again and opened the door of the house.

On the summer days my owners would let me outside in the garden. I stepped through the entry way into  the outside world, met almost immediately with lush green grass and twigs. I padded around the corner of the twoleg place to a white picket fence, the paint was chipped and flaking off.  Some of the spokes crooked and bent, leaving a big enough gap for me to slip through. Once I was on the other side I continued up a slope to the twoleg place next to mine. On the hard stone pavement sat a large orange tabby tom with strong shoulders.

He seemed to notice me instantly and raised his head as I sat next to him. “Hello Storm, Nice day isn’t it?” He asked in greeting. I shook out my dark grey pelt and sat next to him. “It is!” I mewed in delight. “I’ve been waiting all day for my twolegs to let me out!” The tom let out a amused meow. His name was Flame, a cat I spent most of my time with when I was out. We chatted about our day for a while.

I looked up to the blue sky and watched a few pigeons hopping around the roof of the twoleg place. Next to me Flame was in a comfortable sleep, and I couldn’t help  wishing that we could just sit out here, sunning ourselves all day long.

THE END.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *